Beauty Box 5: Box 1

After the long wait I finally got my first Beauty Box 5 delivery, and it was a bit of a mixed bag. Beauty Box 5 is a monthly beauty box subscription for $12. They send you 5, mostly full-size but some are deluxe sample sizes, indie brand beauty products. The shipping is free in the U.S. ($3 to Canada), and you can expect at least $35 worth of product.

bb51.1.jpg

As someone who’s looking to change up your makeup game this is a good way to get your hands on some fresh new products without breaking the bank. Let’s take a closer look:

First thing on my Get it Girl list is Jesse’s Girl: Liquid Eyeliner. I cringed a bit, not exactly having had the best luck with applying liquid liner in the past. I took to google for some application tips and was all ready to get my eyeliner game on when I opened it up to find that it was periwinkle! It absolutely did not coordinate with the other eye makeup that came in my box so I took it all off and applied some eyeshadow I already had so it would work together. No. Nope. Just… uhuh. The color did not work for my skin tone, and it was a pain in the bum to apply. Retail: $6.99

Next up was Prestige Cosmetics: My Biggest Lashes Mascara. I loved the super huge brush, even if it was straight instead of curved. It came out perfectly coated, and went on with ease, but it’s kind of hard to mess up black mascara. Retail: $7.50

The one item in my box that I knew would be of no immediate use was the Did Hair: Jeweled Hair Tie Set. My locks are far too short to attempt such bulky hair ties. With their thick bands and cool colors (don’t forget the jeweled bead attached) they won’t look like a hair band on your wrist, and the description claims they won’t cause creases, but it will be some time before I can put that to the test. Retail: $7.50

Lartzy’s: Lip Pencil may be my favorite of all the items. Anything that can keep my Burt’s Bees lip gloss on for more than thirty minutes (I’m approaching 4 hours) is a winner in my book. It goes on smooth and has a rich pigment. Retail: $18.00

Coastal Scents: Revealed 3 Palette was my only sample size product, but it’s a very generous sample being more eye shadow than I typically wear in a year. The dramatic color range claims to be buildable and can easily transition from day to night. This means a whole lot of nothing to me, but good for them. The color palette is similar to what I already wear but the color goes on bolder, and there’s a bit more sparkle. Retail: $19.50

For being a new subscriber I also got a Marsk: Mineral Eyeshadow. The loose powder came in a silver that has amazing glitter powers, and makes me want to try the whole lot. I’ve currently got it shimmering just below my brows and in the crease of my eye, brightening up the dark Coastal Scents shadow across my lids. Retail: $22.00

bb5 1.2.jpg

For my first box, even though I didn’t love the hair ties or eyeliner, it was most definitely a win. For my twelve bucks I made out with over $80 in product and 4 out of 6 items I love and will use until they are gone or they’ve met their shelf life. The downside is that even though Beauty Box 5 has a shop not all of the items in my box are available. My free Marsk eyeshadow is there, along with the full Coastal Scents Revealed 3 Palette. Did Hair hair ties can be found but not the same style. Everything else, I’d have to scour the internet for. Such a bummer, especially the lip liner.

 

Leave a Reply

